Can you sue for pain and suffering in Indiana?
Can you sue for pain and suffering in Indiana? If you’ve been injured and you’re pursuing a claim against someone in Indiana, you may be able to recover damages for pain and suffering, a legal term for the physical and emotional distress caused by a physical injury.
How do I file a personal injury lawsuit in Indiana?
- Step 1: Establish legal standing. In order to file a lawsuit in Indiana (or any other state), you must have legal standing.
- Step 2: Hire a personal injury lawyer near you.
- Step 3: Determine where to file your lawsuit.
- Step 4: File and serve your complaint.
What is the statute of limitations for personal injury in Indiana? According to the Indiana Code section 34-11-2-4, the Indiana statute of limitations for personal injury is two years. Usually, this two-year time clock starts running on the date of the incident.
How long do you have to sue the state of Indiana? Under Indiana’s Tort Claims Act, any person who wishes to sue the government must generally provide a tort claim notice to the appropriate government agency within 180 days. Once notice is provided, the person can only file a lawsuit after the government denies the claim or fails to respond within 90 days.