How do you get your record expunged in Virginia?
How do you get your record expunged in Virginia? If you are eligible to have your record expunged, you may file a petition for expungement. You must file the petition in the circuit court of the county or city in which your case was handled. (Virginia Statutes § 19.2-392.2 (2018).) You can find the petition forms on the website of the Virginia Judicial System.
How much does expungement cost in Virginia? The fee for filing a proceeding is currently around $84 and the cost of serving the petition on the state is $12, for a total of $96. You should call the Circuit Court clerk’s office in your jurisdiction, before you go in, to find out the exact amount and whether they require cash or will accept a money order.
How do you get your record expunged in Ohio? In Ohio, adult convictions generally cannot be “expunged” or completely erased from your record. Instead of expungement, Ohio uses a court process called “sealing a criminal record.” If your record is sealed, you do not have to disclose your conviction, arrest, or any charge against you when you apply for most jobs.
How do you get your record expunged in NC? To expunge a criminal record in North Carolina, you must file your petition at the county courthouse where you were charged. You must fill out the specific AOC form that applies to you. The forms are based on your age, charge and outcome of the case, among other things.