How much does a divorce cost in Hawaii?

How much does a divorce cost in Hawaii? How much does it cost to file for a divorce in Hawaii? For an uncontested divorce without children, filing fees are $215. If either party has minor children from their current marriage or any other relationship, you will need to pay an additional $50 fee for a Parenting Education class, bringing the total to $265.

How long do you have to be separated before divorce in Hawaii? Hawaii Divorce Laws: Legal Requirements at a Glance

Hawaii law assumes a no-fault stance on divorce, in which the marriage will be terminated as long as the parties have lived separate and apart for two years or have been legally separated.

How much does a uncontested divorce cost in Hawaii? Uncontested Divorce in Hawaii

Uncontested divorces generally cost $1,500 to $2,00 in legal fees and can be concluded within a few months. We must stress, however, that every single item of the divorce settlement must be mutually agreed upon. Otherwise, the court considers the case to be contested.

What are the grounds for divorce in Hawaii? In Hawaii, as long as one spouse believes that the marriage is irretrievably broken or that the marriage cannot be fixed, either spouse can file for divorce. You can get divorced in Hawai`i if you were legally married in another state or another country.

How much does a divorce cost in Hawaii? – Additional Questions

What is a wife entitled to in a divorce in Hawaii?

ability to pay alimony; separate finances after the divorce; obligation to care for any children; money or property that was hidden or not disclosed to the judge; and.

Is Hawaii a 50/50 divorce state?

Hawaii is NOT a community property state, which means that marital property is not automatically divided 50/50 between the spouses in a divorce case.

Is alimony mandatory in Hawaii?

Alimony is not required to be paid in Hawaii divorce cases. The divorcing spouses must agree (otherwise the court will decide) whether spousal support will be paid, who will pay it, how much it will be, and how long it will last. Alimony is not a part of most divorce settlements, although most people assume that it is.

Is there adultery law in Hawaii?

Hawaii is a no-fault state and adultery cannot be used as a reason to get a divorce. Also, a judge will not use adultery or any other marital misconduct when deciding things such as alimony, child support or a division of assets.

How long does spousal support last Hawaii?

The duration of payments is determined by a judge in Hawaii family court. Alimony length is usually based on length of marriage – one commonly used standard for alimony duration is that 1 year of alimony is paid every three years of marriage (however, this is not always the case in every state or with every judge).

How long do you have to wait to remarry after divorce in Hawaii?

Some states require all couples to wait up to 6 days to receive a marriage license.

State waiting times for remarriage after divorce.

To remarry after divorce To apply for a marriage license
District of Columbia No restrictions 5 days
Florida No restrictions 3 days
Georgia No restrictions No restrictions
Hawaii No restrictions No restrictions

How do I start the divorce process?

STEP 1: First Motion involves joint filing of divorce petition. STEP 2: Husband & wife appear before court to record statements after filing of petition. STEP 3: Court examines petition, documents, tries reconciliation, records statements. STEP 4: Court passes order on First Motion.

How can I get a free divorce?

Legal Aid Divorce Help

Call your city or state bar association to ask for contact information or do an internet search to find them. These organizations provide no-cost (and also low-cost) legal assistance. If you are indigent, they may represent you at no cost and will file all fee waiver papers on your behalf.

How much is child support in Hawaii?

The minimum child support under Hawaii law is currently $83.00 per child, per month. The parties may agree, or stipulate to a higher amount than the Guidelines indicates, but not to a lower amount unless there are exceptional circumstances agreed to by the Court.

How is alimony calculated in Hawaii?

There is no formula for calculating spousal support in Hawaii. The court won’t order any spousal support until the judge finds that one spouse needs financial assistance and the other can pay it.

At what age can a child decide which parent to live with in Hawaii?

At What Age Can a Child Decide Which Parent To Live With in Hawaii? Although it is not the only factor in determining custody, the Hawaii court may consider a child’s wishes if he or she is aged 14 or older.

How does Hawaii determine child support?

Under the income share model, the court uses economic tables to estimate the total monthly cost of raising the children. The non-custodial parent pays a percentage of the calculated cost that is based on their proportional share of both parents’ combined income.

Can you waive child support in Hawaii?

Hawaii Child Support

According to Hawaii law, the “non-custodial parent” – the parent who does not have physical custody of the children – must pay child support to the “custodial parent.” The payment of child support is required by law and cannot be waived by the custodial parent.

How much is child support in Oahu?


pays monthly child support of $746 to other parent, $248.67 per child per mo. EXTENSIVE TIME-SHARING WORKSHEET attached.

How much back child support is a felony in Hawaii?

If the child support is overdue for longer than two years or the amount unpaid is $10,000 or more, the crime is considered a felony, potentially resulting in up to two years in prison and fines.

Which states are toughest on child support?

State by state rankings
Rank State Award
# 1 Massachusetts $1,187
# 2 Nevada $1,146
# 3 New Hampshire $1,035
# 4 Rhode Island $1,014

What is the highest child support payment?

In 2010, ex-MGM resort owner Kirk Kerkorian was ordered to pay a staggering $100,000 per month in child support for his daughter with ex-wife Lisa.